Intro : Jackie Learns to Code..

Intro : Jackie Learns to Code..

Hi! I'm Jackie, I'm here to tell you more about me and connect with other aspiring ambitious people who like me are dipping their toes in the dev world, hesitantly, yet determined to be successful.

My ambition is boundless but my time is limited. While trying to actively become a developer I work a full time job in the finance-IT industry. I was, not so long ago, an aspiring Network engineer, I am certified to be a network guy/gal but I changed my path to development on realizing how much I enjoy solving problems using logic.

I am currently making my way through a python crash course book by Eric Mathes. I am almost done with the course work part and will soon begin the projects included in the book. Python is a savior amongst coding languages and I chose it because it's readable and easy to interpret. While practicing coding I am also putting myself through a lot of software development theory like understanding data structures and algorithms, time & space complexity, what distribution systems are etc. I am doing this in order to know fundamentals that I know will come in handy at some point when I do make the transition to a dev role. I have also taken up the 100 days of code challenge ( about which I actively tweet) and am currently on day 19. I did not work these 19 days consecutively but I am determined to be consistent, hopefully sooner than later.

My biggest challenge so far has been consistency, which I think is the key to be successful at being a good developer/coder. Doing my 8-5 (more like 8-7 :/) takes a lot out of me and it's been hard to keep the motivation to learn something new after. But excuses aside, its been a great first couple of weeks and I think I've done some significant foundational work so far. Just like in running I hope to keep being able to put one foot in front of the other and keep going until it gets easier to do.

The reason I am on Hashnode is because I find writing creatively extremely hard to do and I couldn't think of a better way to kill two birds with one stone i.e. learn how to code and document it while also learning how to write well. I think these are skills that go a long way in life and are quite underrated. For anyone wondering, yes my Hashnode page and the title of this article is a play on "Michael Learns to Rock" which is a band I really enjoy listening to, I'm a rock and roll gal :D

To whoever is reading this, do introduce yourself, I would love to get to know you. Give me feedback if you can, I welcome it, constructively :)

Until the next time I have something to you tell you..

Alvida (See ya!)